New Board members appointed

Professor Maggie Dallman and Dr Ian Ragan will serve on the Board for 3-year terms from October 2010.

The work of the NC3Rs is overseen by a Board chaired by Professor Ian Kimber, University of Manchester. Members must be respected individuals with a proven track record in relevant research, have a good understanding of the use of animals in research and testing, display a commitment to the development of all three 'Rs', and a proven ability to exercise judgment in areas of science policy.


1. Professor Maggie Dallman

Professor Dallman is Principal of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Professor of Immunology at Imperial College London. She has over 30 years experience in biomedical research, with a primary interest in understanding the regulation of immunity and infection. Her commitment to the 3Rs is evident in her recent research using zebrafish larvae as models of inflammation. Professor Dallman has served on advisory panels for a number of bodies, including research councils and charities. She currently serves on the Strategy Advisory Board of the BBSRC and the Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute of Animal Health. Professor Dallman is also a Non-Executive Director of the Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.

2. Dr Ian Ragan

Dr Ragan provides consultancy services to the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries. He is a strong supporter of the 3Rs and currently chairs the NC3Rs/ABPI mAbs Working Group. Dr Ragan is a neuropharmacologist who has worked extensively on psychiatric and neurological disorders such as depression, anxiety, schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease. His roles have included Executive Director of the European Brain Council, Executive Director of Neuroscience Research at Eli Lilly and Co. and Executive Director of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Merck Sharp and Dohme. Dr Ragan played a key role in the development of the Innovative Medicines Initiative. He is a former member of the BBSRC's Strategy Board and Council. Dr Ragan is a trustee of the autism charity Autistica and a member of the Independent Scientific Committee on Drugs.

Outgoing members

The NC3Rs would like to thank the following Board Members whose term ended in 2010:

Dr Julia Fentem, Unilever
Professor Jane Hurst, University of Liverpool
Dr Maggy Jennings, Research Animals Department, RSPCA

Subscribe to our newsletter