Funding Panel membership

Funding Panel members are appointed in a personal capacity for three years, with the possibility of a further one or two years extension. A full list of current members and when their term ends is given below.

We receive proposals from a wide range of disciplines. Additional members may be co-opted to each Panel, for one year, if additional expertise is required.

Assessment procedure | Declarations of interest | Grant Assessment Panel | Studentship Assessment Panel | Training Fellowship Assessment Panel | Skills and Knowledge Transfer Assessment Panel | Strategic Awards 

Assessment procedure

Peer review generally consists of a two stage process:

  1. Applications are assessed by independent, national and international, scientfic experts who consider the viability, scientific quality, cost-effectiveness and likely 3Rs impact of the proposal.  
  2. The Panel assesses applications. During the meeting, proposals are discussed and scored by each member against the scoring critera, assessing both scientifc quality and 3Rs impact, and taking into consideration the referees' scores and comments, the response to reviewers' comments and Panel members' opinions. At the end of the meeting applications are grouped according to the Panel's median score for the proposal.  This is used as a basis for further discussion, which may take into account strategic priorities, prior to reaching final funding decisions. 

For small investments or outline proposals, assessment is normally by a Panel only.

Declarations of interests

Funding Panel members are required to declare any private, professional or commercial interests that might, or that might be perceived to, conflict with the NC3Rs interests as detailed in the declaration of interests policy.


Grant Assessment Panel

Assesses project grant applications.

Member Name Institution Term Ends
Professor Christopher George Swansea University 2022
Dr Adrian Biddle Queen Mary, University of London 2023
Professor Michael Bonsall University of Oxford 2021
Dr Derek Brazil Queen's University Belfast 2022
Professor Oliver Burman University of Lincoln 2021
Professor Jon Martin Collinson University of Aberdeen 2023
Dr Darren Dahly University College Cork, Ireland 2022
Dr Manolis Fanto King's College London 2021
Professor Marta García-Fiñana  University of Liverpool 2022
Professor Felicity Gavins Brunel University London 2022
Professor Robert Hindges King's College London 2023
Professor Colin Johnson University of Leeds 2022
Dr John Kendrick  Covance Ltd 2021
Professor Paul Langford  Imperial College London 2022
Dr Jessica Martin University of Edinburgh 2023
Dr Pietro Mastroeni  University of Cambridge 2022
Professor Amritpal Mudher  University of Southampton 2022
Dr Patricia Muller CRUK Institute, University of Manchester 2022
Professor Helen Wheadon University of Glasgow 2023
Professor Jeanette Woolard University of Nottingham 2021
Co-opted Panel members    
Dr Enrico Dall'Ara University of Sheffield 2021
Professor Julie Gough University of Manchester 2021
Dr Sally Robinson AstraZeneca 2021
Professor Felicity Rose University of Nottingham 2021

Back to the top

Studentship Assessment Panel

Assesses PhD studentship applications.

Member Institution  Term Ends
Professor Paul Garside (Chair) University of Glasgow 2021
Dr Yassine Amrani  University of Leicester 2022
Dr Jeff Barclay University of Liverpool 2023
Dr William Brackenbury University of York 2022
Dr Paola Campagnolo University of Surrey 2023
Dr Yi Feng University of Edinburgh 2023
Professor Amir Ghaemmaghami University of Nottingham 2021
Professor Patrick Lewis Royal Veterinary College 2022
Dr Lisa Lione University of Hertfordshire 2021
Dr Melanie Madhani University of Birmingham 2022
Dr Kendle Maslowski University of Birmingham 2023
Professor Cathy Merry University of Nottingham 2022
Dr Munitta Muthana  University of Sheffield 2022
Dr Daniel Neill University of Liverpool 2023
Dr Tracey Newman  University of Southampton 2022
Dr Arjuna Ratnayaka University of Southampton 2022
Professor Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova University of Exeter 2023
Dr Stephen White Manchester Metropolitan University 2021
Co-opted Panel members    
Dr Matt Leach Newcastle University 2021
Professor Michael Mendl University of Bristol 2021
Dr Johnny Roughan Newcastle University 2021
BHF Panel members    
Professor Sheila Francis University of Sheffield 2021
Professor Pasquale Maffia University of Glasgow 2021

Back to the top

Training Fellowship Assessment Panel

Assesses proposals submitted to the Training Fellowship scheme.

Member Institution Term Ends
Dr Tom Matheson University of Leicester 2021
Dr Emma Blain Cardiff University 2022
Dr Philip Elks University of Sheffield 2023
Professor Paul Evans University of Sheffield 2023
Dr Gillian Farnie CRUK Therpeutic Discovery Laboratories 2023
Dr Patricia Lalor University of Birmingham 2023
Dr Manasi Nandi King's College London 2022
Professor Neil Vargesson University of Aberdeen 2023
Co-opted Panel members    
Dr Jessica Martin Univeresity of Edinburgh 2021
Professor Amritpal Mudher University of Southampton 2021

Back to the top

Skills and Knowledge Transfer Assessment Panel

Assesses proposals submitted to the Skills and Knowledge Transfer grant scheme.

Member Institution Term Ends
Professor Nick Plant (Chair) University of Leeds 2023
Professor Mark Chambers University of Surrey  2022
Dr Dominic Corkill AstraZeneca 2021
Dr Jason Rihel University College London 2021
Dr Sally Robinson AstraZeneca 2022
Dr Jane Sosabowski Queen Mary, University of London 2021
Co-opted Panel members    
Professor John Greenman University of Hull 2021
Dr Tracey Newman University of Southampton 2021
Professor Stefan Przyborski Durham University 2021
CRUK Panel member    
Dr Clare Davies University of Birmingham 2021

Back to the top

Strategic Awards

An assessment Panel is convened for each strategic call. Membership of the Panel is dependent on the strategic focus of each call. A list of Panel members can be found on each strategic award webpage.

Back to the top